Social Sign On in Community Hub

Logging in and Creating an Account Through Social Sign-On on the Login Page

When external authentication providers are configured for Community Hub, the Social Sign On card is shown on the Login page and users can click to log into Community Hub using a social account.

Logging in with Most Social Accounts

When users click a social account to log in for the first time, they are automatically redirected to the authentication provider and asked to enter their social account login information and approve Community Hub access to their account. Once users approve, they are brought back to Community Hub.

If users are already logged into a connected social account, they are automatically redirected to the page where they can approve Community Hub.

Checking for Matching Community Hub Accounts

When users approve Community Hub access to their social account, Nimble AMS checks to see if the email address used for the social account matches an email used in the Person Email or Other Email fields on an Account record or the Username field on a User record.

Matching Account Found

When a match is found, the experience is different depending on how Community Hub is configured:

If Social Sign On Enhanced Security is disabled (default), users are logged into the matching account which is then connected to their social account.

If Social Sign On Enhanced Security is enabled, users are not logged in and are taken to the Login page with an error letting them know there is an existing account with that email, and that they can log in using their Community Hub account and connect their social account to their Community Hub account. When users submit their Community Hub login information, they are taken to the My Login Information page.

No Matching Account

If the email address used for the social account does not match an email used for an existing Community Hub account, a new Community Hub account is created using that email address. The new Account has Account Created Through Social Sign-On and Account Does Not Have Password selected for reporting purposes and is connected to the social account. Users are sent a welcome email and taken to the Profile Snapshot page.

In some cases, an authentication provider–such as Facebook–may provide Nimble AMS a constituent's name as one long string, like "Katie R. Rivers", rather than in separate pieces for first, middle, and last name. With situations where a constituent might have two names as their first name, or two middle names, simply trying to guess a constituent's first, middle, and last names from the long string can get dicey. So to avoid parsing someone's name incorrectly when a long string is returned by the authentication provider, Nimble AMS puts it in the Last Name field on the new individual Account. Users can update their name information on the My Profile page and staff can report on those Accounts created through social sign-on that do not have a first name.

If a user logs in with a social account that uses one email, logs out, and then logs in with another social account that uses a different email, two different Community Hub accounts are created, one for each email. It's important to monitor for duplicate accounts in the event this occurs. In this case, the accounts can be merged.

Logging in with a Twitter Account

When users click the Twitter social account to log in for the first time, they are shown a message letting them know they can log in using their Community Hub account and connect their Twitter account to their Community Hub account.

Logging in After a Social Account is Connected


Once users have connected a social account with their Community Hub account, they can log in with that social account without having to enter their Community Hub login information.

Logged Into a Connected social account

If users are already logged into a connected social account–that is, if they want to log in with Facebook©, and are currently logged into Facebook©–when they click to log into Community Hub using that account, they are authenticated in the background and taken to the Profile Snapshot page.

Logged Out of a Connected Social Account

If users try to log into Community Hub and are not logged into a connected social account–that is, if they want to log in with Facebook©, and are not currently logged into Facebook©–they are automatically redirected to the authentication provider and asked to enter their login information and are then taken to the Profile Snapshot page.

Updating Social Connections on the My Login Information Page

When enabled, users can can click to connect their Community Hub account to a social account, or to disconnect a Community Hub account from a social account. Users can also see the username of the social account that is connected to their Community Hub Account.

If users disconnect from Community Hub within a social account, that disconnection won't show on the My Login Information page. The social account will still shown as being connected because it does not signal back to Community Hub that a change was made.

When connecting a social account, after approving a connection to their social account, users see the "Link Your Account" page. This is a base Salesforce page, and is themed independently of Community Hub. See Brand Your Community (external) to learn how to customize this page.