Staff can anonymize all personally identifiable information for an individual account in response to a constituent's request to be forgotten. Values in populated fields are anonymized in different ways depending on the field type, and all field history is deleted.
Anonymization is only available in Lightning Experience.
User Permissions Needed
Data Protection And Privacy Admin permission set.
Field history permissions were set for anonymizing individuals.
- From an account, click Anonymize. If you do not see this button, click Show More in the dropdown menu..
The individual's records are validated to ensure there are no conflicts that would prevent their account from being anonymized. There are a few different validations you may see:
Validation Resolution The individual has a committee membership Delete the committee membership The individual has an order with a balance Resolve the balance in The Order Process The individual has a membership Cancel the membership The individual has a cart in an open batch Post the batch The individual has a transaction in an open batch Post the batch The individual is the only manager for a company Set a different company manager The individual is the company primary contact Set a different company primary contact The individual is registered for an event Cancel the registration
You may also see custom validations specific to your association. Speak with your administrator about how to resolve these situations.
- If you want to know exactly what personally identifiable information will be anonymized, you can view all objects affected, and expand to see the fields on each that will anonymized.
- ClickNext. The fields are anonymized,
Statuson the account is set to
Inactive, and a message displays about anonymizing the constituent's Community Hub user.
- Click Next. The fields are anonymized,
Activeon the user is deselected, and all related Third-Party Account Links—used for social sign-on—are deleted.
Review the results of the anonymization. There are a few different results you may see:
Result Description CLEARED The value of the field has been removed. DEFAULTED The field, which is a checkbox, has been selected or deselected; whichever is the default value for the field. ENCRYPTED The field must have a value, so the existing value has been encrypted to avoid identifiability.
This field cannot be changed. It could be a formula field, with a value based on other fields that can be anonymized, or a base Salesforce field.
- Notice that
Anonymizedis now selected,
Anonymization Dateis set to today's date, and the Person Account History related list is empty.